Little Giant Ladder

 Can the Little Giant Ladder System really replace the function of every ladder you might need?
Editor's Rating
4 stars
Pretty Cool
Average User Rating

Pretty Cool
Write your own review
  • Pros:
  • Can be Folded in 5 Ways
  • 18 Unique Positions
  • Well Designed, Sturdy
  • Cons:
  • Expensive
  • Unsteady scaffolding position

The Bottom Line:
Aside from the unsteady scaffolding position, this ladder seems very sturdy in each configuration. It has 18 unique positions (unlike the advertised 24). If price isn't an issue for you, this is a very useful and handy ladder.

 
Let us know what's in that head of yours





The Bottom Line: The customer service is very poor. They denied my claim over the internet saying that it was wear and tear. The decals are all still intact and they are saying wear and tear? The keeper pin that keeps the "Quad Lock" on has fallen out. I will replace it and leave horrible reviews at all places I can.

Recommended: no

Michael D Voyles does not own this product

by: Michael D Voyles
5/22/2013 6:20:47 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.



All the information I have seen from Little Giant, printed and video, states that to use the sections for the scaffolding platform, you must put the work platform in place to stabilize the removed sections. Perhaps you should read the instructions before evaluating this feature with a not so favorable rating.   

Jeff Harkness owns this product

by: Jeff Harkness
1/12/2013 6:38:20 AM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this comment? Leave a comment.



You Bonehead! The scaffolding configuration requires a set of pieces which hold the tops of the two sides together. I received the set with my purchase! you are not setting it up right. Look at the demo video!   

anonymous coward owns this product

by: anonymous coward
5/24/2011 3:58:11 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this comment? Leave a comment.



you need to turn the sections around for the scaffolding trusse on the one you thought was wobbly...that will sturdy it up (from what I saw on the product website)   

anonymous coward does not own this product

by: anonymous coward
11/28/2010 7:15:50 AM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this comment? Leave a comment.




Pros: pretty useful

Cons: tallest height is a little rickety

The Bottom Line: This thing is way more useful than i thought it would be. I found it pretty handy, and not more difficult to use than a regular ladder. It was also cool that because it was so adjustable I didnt need a short ladder AND a tall one, just this one. I like it.

Recommended: yes

Phillip McMackin owns this product

by: Phillip McMackin
7/21/2010 4:39:34 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.



Before you do a review you should first read all the instructions. When using as scaffolding the half you said was wobbly won't have been if you put the work platform between the legs like tell tell you to.   

anonymous coward owns this product

by: anonymous coward
7/3/2010 2:58:40 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
screw you on the coward bullshit


anonymous coward owns this product
by: anonymous coward
7/3/2010 3:00:40 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this comment? Leave a comment.




Pros: Easy to operate. Very durable, transports easily, adjust and conforms for most applications

Cons: Maybe a little expensive but I would do it again

Bottom Line: I also have t 3foot ladder made by Werner which is great for around the house or used as an extension ladder to get into attics by stepping into instead of pulling myself into the attic.

Recommended: yes

Long time user does not own this product

by: Long time user
8/16/2009 5:32:57 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.




Pros: When collapsed, the ladder is very compact and can be transported inside a smaller vehicle (for those who don't have a pick-up or ladder rack).
Very versatile - reduces the need to bring multiple ladders to a jobsite.

Cons: Pricey - check Walmart and Costco for best value. There are lower cost versions produced by Werner that must be using the same patents.

Bottom Line: Meir indicated that one of the scaffolding trusses is not stable. The ladder should come with a second set of hinges to be used when the ladders are separated. With these hinges installed, the second truss is as stable as the first and can even be used as a separate ladder.

Recommended: yes

Ish Tam does not own this product

by: Ish Tam
6/16/2009 2:01:21 AM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.




Pros: Its the original and made in the USA

Cons: Its heavy but it has wheels

Bottom Line: I looked at the Chinese knock offs of the Little Giant and I couldnt believe how bad they were! Some didnt even weld the rungs on. They just used some rivits. This isnt like buying a screw driver, when it fails no one gets hurt, when a ladder fails you could be 15 - 20 feet in the air. The safety of me and my family is way more important than buying some piece of junk made in China.

Recommended: yes

mel does not own this product

by: mel
2/9/2009 10:41:27 AM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.




Pros: Versatile.
Small.

Bottom Line: This ladder is quite versatile. I've only used the A-frame and extension versions, but both setups work well. The fact that it's so small when not in use makes it easy to move around inside the house without hitting into the walls as much.

Recommended: yes

Ronald does not own this product

by: Ronald
2/5/2009 12:36:11 AM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.



The Little Giant Ladder Work Platform is designed to be used as a spreader bar when using the ladder in the scaffold trestle mode. The included paper manual, QR code, and online video manual all show this very clearly. It is always important to read the manufacturer's instructions when using or reviewing a product.   

Clay owns this product

by: Clay
4/14/2013 2:33:53 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (1)
Thoughts on this comment? Leave a comment.

Editrial Review

Reviewed by: Meir Reiz
Reviewed on: 1/28/2009 4:32:03 PM


Pretty Cool


What it claims to do: The Little Giant Ladder claims to be the strongest, safest, most versatile and easy-to-store ladder in the world. It advertises 24 different positions and the ability to hold up to 300 lbs, and the manufacturer claims you will never buy another ladder after trying this one.

What we found: The Little Giant Ladder is definitely very versatile. My at-home extension ladder cannot instantly transform into a step ladder.

Actually getting the ladder into each of its potential positions was fairly straightforward. We were able to get the ladder into every position but the scaffolding in just under two minutes. After a little practice, changing positions took under 30 seconds a piece. One surprise: no matter how hard we tried, we could only find 18 positions - not 24. Seems the manufacturer counted some of the positions twice.


For the positions we did find, though, the locking mechanism seemed very safe and we felt very comfortable when using our new product around the office. It was also easy to tell when the ladder was locked into position.

And for portability? It is definitely easier to store the Little Giant than a 15-foot extension ladder. Despite its weighing 35 lbs, we still found it to be easier to carry around the office and up the stairs than a large extension ladder. It also saves a lot of storage space.

As for being the sturdiest ladder around, well, most of its positions seemed pretty safe, but as you can see in the video, the scaffolding was definitely not confidence inspiring. I would not let my kids paint the house while using it.

Little Giants also claim that this patent-pending design makes it one of the sturdiest and safest ladders possible. We must admit that there is a degree of truth to how sturdy and safe it feels, however it is not as unique as they would have you believe. Other ladder systems, such as the Gorilla, are almost an exact replica of the Little Giant design and cost far less. Check out our review and comparison of the Gorilla as well.

The Bottom Line: This is very useful, sturdy, versatile, and easy-to-store ladder. It is not the only ladder of its kind and is not great for use in the scaffolding position. But if those are not deal-breakers for you and if you don't mind the price, we think you'll be very happy with it.

Model Tested: Little Giant 17. 1A Aluminum Ladder

Recent Changes: Little Giant has added wheels to the bottom the ladder for easier transport.

Comparison of Little Giant Ladder Models:

Model 13

Model 17

Model 22

Model 26

Weight capacity:

300-lbs.

300-lbs.

300-lbs.

300-lbs.

Ladder weight:

26 lbs.

35 lbs.

42 lbs.

54 lbs.

Min extension height:
7'
9'
11'
13'

Max extension height:

11'

15'

19'

23'

Min A-frame height:
3'
4'
5'
6'

Max. A-frame height:

5'

7'

9'

11'

Storage height:

3'7"

4'7"

5'7"

6'7"

Max scaffolding height:
3'
3'
3'
3'
Max workbench height:
3'
4'
5'
6'
Width at base:
24"
24.50"
27.50"
31"

Warranty:

Lifetime

Lifetime

Lifetime

Lifetime




 Find it on Amazon
Suggest a Product