Stealth SSA

 Secret Sound Amplifier or Obvious Waste of Money?
Editor's Rating
1 stars
Poor
Average User Rating

Worth Owning
Write your own review
  • Cons:
  • Does not work as advertised
  • Loud background hissing noise
  • Does not fit well
  • Uncomfortable to wear
  • Pros:
  • Rechargeable battery
  • Volume and On/Off are separate switches
  • Status LEDs (so you know when its on or charging)

The Bottom Line:
The Stealth SSA is not the device we had hoped it would be. The uniform amplification ofall sounds in teh room made it impossible to properly hear what was actually important. The hissing noise was distracting and the device uncomfortable. We suggest a real hearing aid.

 
Let us know what's in that head of yours



decent for the money

Pros: not overpriced, works, rechargable

Cons: doesnt work as well as advertised, uncomfortable.

The Bottom Line: The stealth SSA, while not working as well as depicted in the comercial, does provide some boost to my hearing. Its isn't comfortable but no blu-tooth style ear pieces really are to me. It won;t make you a spy but it will help you pick up on some of the things you might otherwise be missing. not a bad buy.

Recommended: yes

dave from delaware does not own this product

by: dave from delaware   
4/29/2010 2:35:35 PM
Was this helpful? (1) (0)
Hi Dave,

It's interesting- you aren't as regretful of your purchase as some of the other reviewers clearly are. Do you think this is an ok buy in the sense that you might actually use it from time to time? Or are you passing it on to your kids to fool around with?


C R does not own this product
by: C R  
4/29/2010 5:27:43 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.

So

your saying it's awesome. Got it.   

montecarlo does not own this product

by: montecarlo   
4/22/2010 10:55:02 PM
Was this helpful? (1) (0)
Hahaha...


Mordy G. does not own this product
by: Mordy G.  
6/23/2010 2:32:22 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Got an answer? Put it here.




Pros: decent amplification, looks better than regular hearing aid, functions better than Loud n Clear, Cheap

Cons: static, slightly uncomfortable

The Bottom Line: i am a senior living on my own, and i found this product to be very useful, for the price. I cant afford a 2,600$ hearing aid, as my audiologist said one would cost me.. but 35$ to not have the police called because my tv is so loud? sure!


Recommended: yes

anonymous coward owns this product

by: anonymous coward
7/9/2010 11:05:31 AM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.

Anyone with a real hearing problem using this?

I'm wondering if any of the people checking out this review actually have a hearing problem and are considering getting this? Would you really be less self-conscious with this device than another device that is probably more effective? Is it a worthwhile trade off?   

C R does not own this product

by: C R   
4/29/2010 6:21:41 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Got an answer? Put it here.


just awful

Pros: zilch

Cons: fuctions just as poorly as the loud n clear

The Bottom Line: i dont know what I was thinking getting this thing after my experience with the loud n clear. It sucks just as much as that thing. Can't recommend this at all.

Recommended: no

daniel does not own this product

by: daniel   
4/29/2010 2:56:31 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.


not good

Pros: really aren't any

Cons: too many to list in one place

The Bottom Line: uncomfortable, doesnt work as advertised, just makes a static noise in your ear, looks goofy. this was the biggest waste of money ever.

Recommended: no

sammy D does not own this product

by: sammy D   
4/29/2010 2:02:05 PM
Was this helpful? (0) (0)
Thoughts on this review? Leave a comment.

Editrial Review

Reviewed by: Andrew Rabadan
Reviewed on: 4/20/2010 4:07:35 PM


Poor


What it claims to do: The Stealth SSA (Secret Sound Amplifier) claims to be a high quality, high performance sound amplifier. The manufacturers boast that this device can be used just like a hearing aid by those who are more self-conscious and would prefer to wear a less noticeable hearing aid.

What we found: Unlike the Loud N' Clear, the Stealth SSA uses rechargeable batteries. That is a huge plus for a device that you would probably want to use often.

We performed a number of tests on the Stealth SSA. We tried watching television with the volume low, we took the Stealth SSA outside to see if it amplified sounds well, we tried listening in to a phone conversation.... Results were consistently disappointing. As there is no directional amplification, the Stealth SSA amplifies ALL sounds in the room, creating a background noise that makes it very difficult to hear what you want.

The bottom line: Though the rechargeable battery is a nice feature, we did not find the Stealth SSA to be very useful. We have heard that some people do find it useful, but to us the background noise made all of the sounds unintelligible.



 Find it on Amazon
Suggest a Product